Ethical Clothing

Nomads

2 years ago, I would walk into a high street shop and not really question the sustainability or the ethics behind the clothes I was trying on or purchasing. All I saw where the pretty colours, style, cut and how it fitted my body. All that changed after learning more and more about where my clothes come from and the back story to every garment that I had looked at. I made a decision that I did not want to support companies who are not sustainable in the fabric they use or support any company who uses slave labor so I could have the luxury of nice clothes.

But in making this decision it has become harder and harder to buy new clothes that I like and are in a price bracket I can afford. So I very rarely buy brand new clothes, instead I shop in charity shops, attend cloth swap parties and wear my clothes out until they can no longer be mended and patched up.

Just recently I came across a company called Nomads Clothing , I had heard of them before but always thought they where that kind of shop that my bank balance or bank manger  would not like. So I never bothered to look into them any further. But my original thoughts were completely wrong, in fact their clothes are very reasonable and they have a very good ethos behind them.

Who are Nomads ?

In the late 1908’s Duncan and Vicky met while back packing around India and it was during this encounter that they fell in love with traditional Indian fabric and clothing. Just before they headed back to the UK, they spent there last bit of savings filling their suitcases up with traditional Indian clothes from street markets. On returning they sold all the clothes they had purchased making them selves a tidy profit. But this was where their story gets more interesting, Instead of taking the profit and spending it on travelling to a different country or buying a house or a car, they traveled back to India with all the profit. Whilst staying in Buddhist retreats they learnt about the local craft learning how traditional Indian fabric is made and becoming part of the local community. Their love for the Indian culture inspired them to create the clothing company Nomads Clothing and yet again filled their suitcases with bundles upon bundles of traditional fabric to create beautiful bohemian clothes to sell in the UK.

Every year Duncan and Vicky travel back to India to live with the people, learn from the craftsmanship and bring back new collections of fabric for us to enjoy wearing while we carve out our individual path of beauty and way of life.

Fun on the beach

 

Are Nomads Clothing Ethical And Sustainable? 

Yes they are, in fact they are very open about where their fabric comes from, how the fabric is sourced and the people that are involved in the India and the UK that you can spend hours if not days looking into the background of how Nomads operate. I won’t bore you to tears with everything I have found so here are a few of the important things I think we should all know about Nomads.

  • They live by the saying ‘trade not aid’  because they wont not only maintain sustainability across all their clothing but they also want to maintain profitable living for everyone who is involved in producing Nomads clothing. This is everyone from the people who pick the cotton, weave the cotton, dye or print the designs, design the clothes, cut the fabric and sew the fabric into the lovely Nomads designs. Every person that is involved in an item of clothing from the farmer to distribution of each item to our door step is important to Nomads Clothing company.
  • Nomads clothing are members of the Ethical Fashion Forum (EFF) and the British Association of Fair Trade Shops (BAFTS). As well as being certified by GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standards) and are member of the Ethical Fashion Forum.
  • All of Nomads clothing is made from 100% organic cotton so they can protect the well being of the cotton farmers they use to produce the cotton they use in their fabric.
  • They use environmentally approved dyes that are Azo free to print and tie dye the fabric.
  • They provided safe and clean working conditions and ensure no children are involved in producing their clothes.
  • Nomads clothing provide equal pay to both male and female workers.
  • They recycle all packaging and only use recyclable post bags.
  • Nomads support the charity TAMWED  by donating some of  their profits  help to support a community health project.

So far Nomads clothing ticks all the boxes but what about the clothes themselves?

 

 

This week I had the great pleasure at testing out 2 of Nomads dresses, they arrived in the post within 6 days of ordering them in a recycled posted bag and the cardboard labels that where attached the dresses where not only pretty they where also recyclable. The only thing I can say about Nomads clothes at this stage, although I am not a skinny women by any measure I would not say I was overly over weight. I class myself as an average women in size but I did find Nomads sizes inconstant through out their range and having to take a tape measure to myself quite a lot of times. I think their inconstant sizing is something I need to bear in mind in the future when I look through their website. Nomads website is clear, easy to negotiate and packed full of information regarding each piece of clothing, they even have an inspirational page if you are not sure what would go with what, which I found really useful.

Tie Dye Raglan Tunic

 

The first dress I tried out this week was a Tie Dye Raglan Tunic, in dusky pink. I love this dress, its so versatile. You can either throw it on over the top of your swimming costume at the beach, pair up with a nice cardigan and short leggings for the school run or meeting friends for coffee or wear with a pair of skinny jeans and long beaded necklace at your local restaurant. This dress is differently going to be my must have dress to pack when we go away camping or sailing as I can wear it for almost any destination  I may be staying or for any activity I am planning on taking part in.

The fabric feels great against the skin, almost like silk although it is not made of silk, very comfortable and a lovey fit. I love the fine detail on this dress, I like being able to choose how long you would like it depending on what you are doing. I can alter the length through the pull ties on the side, which are nicely finished off with sliver decorated beads.

As for washing this Tie Dye Raglan is easy to wash at 30 degrees and dries really quickly on the line (with in 20 minutes) ready for me to hit the beach for a evening stroll.

Nomads Clothing Pocket Dress

 

The second dress I tried this week was the Pocket Dress. This dress comes in several different colors but I choose the blue version because I thought I would more likely already have accessories to wear with this pocket dress. But when it arrived I found that this dress is perfect in every way that you don’t need to add any accessories.  This dress is ideal to wear whipping around the local supermarket picking up your weeks shopping, going out for a meal with friends or to wear at your best friends wedding.

The cotton fabric is so soft against your skin, that at times I forgot I was wearing a dress. I love the shaping of this as it pulls in just under the bust line and then flows out over your hips. With the pretty detail of pull in pockets and beaded ties that do up on the back of the dress.

This pocket dress is very easy to wash at 30 degrees and dries better hanging on a coat hanger than it does pegged to the washing machine.

Over all I love these dresses and I can see these two dresses being part of my main stable items of clothing I wear day in day out.

The lovely people at Nomads Clothing  are kindly offering all of you lovely people 20% off your order using the promotion code  BLOG20. 

Leave a Reply

