Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs

Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs

This year my brother Benjamin aka ApertureF64 (a photography blogger) and I have teamed up for Easter to make some naturally dyed Easter eggs for our Easter table, even though we are going to be celebrating Easter miles apart from each other. Benjamin lives in Poland and I live in the UK so before we even began trying to create some beautiful Easter eggs there where quite a few emails zooming from one another as to how we were going to create our masterpieces.

This is as far as I can take credit for this project as you can imagine, it turned out harder to try and make  naturally dyed easter eggs in the UK and then send them to Poland to be photographed. Infact that is an impossible act, so my lovely brother went about learning how to make his own naturally dye Easter eggs and photographed the results. Here is Benjamin’s journey to create a naturally dyed Easter Eggs for our family’s Easter celebration.

Bowl of Red Cabbage Dyed Eggs

Benjamin What process Did You Use To Dye The Eggs?

  • I am going to be using The kitchn recipe for dying my eggs which looks like the easiest way to do it.

What Eggs Are You Going To Be Using?

  • I have some brown and white chicken eggs that are freerange.

Did You Find Making Your Own Dye Easy? 

  • After finding the recipe I was planning on using Goisa (my wife) and I were talking about dying eggs as she used to do this with her mum when she was a child. Gosia suggested that by adding the ingredients and then some white vinegar in a pot and boiling for about 30 mins creates a good dye. So I gave this a go, I then strained the water and left to cool outside for 20 mins. Then I slowly reheat the dye with the eggs fully submerged until the water dye was boiling and then simmered for 20 minutes. After 20 mins I removed them from the heat to continue dyeing if the eggs hadn’t quite taken the colour.

How Did Your Eggs Turn Out?

  • In this batch I used red cabbage which created blue colour on my white eggs and an lavendeish colour on my brown eggs. I then tried turmeric which turned all my eggs  yellow and red onion skins,I had to  added some normal into the mix because I didn’t have enough red. I did make one mistake with this batch by adding oil to the dye mixture when making it (as I read the recipe wrong) and it created a spotted effect which does look nice, for smooth colours don’t do this.

Eggs drying

How Much Ingredients Did You Use To Make Your Dye?

  • 1 cup of ingredients for every cup of water to make the dye and one tablespoon of white vinegar for every cup of water.

What Did You Do Differently To Make Your Natural Dye On The Second Batch?

  • On my second attempt I did it more like how Gosia’s mum has always done it.  Which is adding the eggs with the dye ingredient and heat it up together. This worked and was quicker, but the colour is more mottled and uneven giving you some nice effects to to your eggs. The most important thing to remember when you dye your eggs this way is DON’T cook your eggs any longer than 20 minutes. If the eggs haven’t  the  colour leave them in the dye and don’t worry. The red onion worked really quick but the cabbage and turmeric took longer this way and I had to leave the eggs sat in the dye for around an hour.

How Long Do The Eggs Stay Fresh?

  • Once dyed and if kept in the fridge the Eggs will stay fresh for about 7 days, unless you eat them of course.

Is There Anything Extra You Can Do To The Eggs?

  • You can dab a kitchen tool with cooking oil and gently rub and polish the egg to get a really nice shine.

 Thank you Benjamin for trying out these different techniques for naturally dying our Easter eggs, these are perfect for decorating the centerpiece of our Easter dining room table and for hiding in the garden for our family Easter egg hunt.

Please check out the Benjamin’s Gallery of Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs here.

Natural Dyed Egg Collection

Have you ever tried dying your own natural Easter eggs?

If you have what ingredients did you find worked best? 

What tips do you have that can help us all create our own natural dyes?

Also remember to check out the Benjamin’s Gallery of Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs here.

Collection Natural Dyed Eggs

We Would Like To Wish You All A Very Happy Easter

xxx

Leave a Reply

