Homemade Tomato Ketchup

Homemade Tomato Ketchup

My Children  love tomato ketchup with nearly everything they eat. One of my girls loves having a tomato ketchup sandwich for their lunch were my son adds so much tomato ketchup to his chips its more like chips with his tomato ketchup rather than tomato ketchup with his chips.
But the regular tomato ketchup (whether its the brand or shops own) contain so much sugar, E numbers, preservatives, colouring and flavouring that it only actually contains 30% tomatoes. I really don’t want my children to eat all the extra stuff they add to tomato ketchup that I decided I would try and make my own.
Easy I thought but when it came down to playing with different ingredients it turned out to be harder than I thought.  After around 4 different attempts I finally came up with a sauce that tastes similar but not the same as bought ketchup and had the same consistency. My children never noticed the difference when I offered my homemade version to them because I re – used an empty bottle to keep it in and they could not tell by taste. Win, Win to me I think as now my children can enjoy as much tomato ketchup as they like, while I know they are getting something holsum and good for them.
Tomato Ketchup Recipe
Do you have a favorite  homemade tomato ketchup recipe that your family enjoys with their homemade chips? 
7 responses to “Homemade Tomato Ketchup

  1. Looks a great recipe! Tried to make my own ketchup a couple of years ago but my little person turned her nose up at it. This coming year I might give it another go.. X

    • Depending on how big your reusable glass bottles are results in how much it makes I use small glass bottles and I can make 5 bottles of ketchup with a bit left over.

  2. Pingback: 12 Foods You Should Stop Buying And Make Instead | Mommy Emu·

  3. Pingback: What Zero Waste Means To me | Mommy Emu·

Leave a Reply

