Homemade Toothpaste and Mouthwash

Homemade toothpaste & mouth wash
Over the last year I have been trying to convince my husband that we should no longer buy high street toothpaste because of the amount of plastic and fluoride they contain and make our own instead. Each time I approached the subject his face literally said it all with the reply “Emma I will try nearly everything you suggest but I will not clean my teeth with any homemade toothpaste.” (But this did not keep me from bring up the subject every now and again.)
So I had a brainwave just cos hubby won’t try it, what’s stopping me from giving homemade toothpaste and mouthwash ago. After trying lots and I mean lots of different recipes on the wide world web (nearly being sick with some of them) I finally found a nice tasting recipe. I have been using this toothpaste for a month now and one of the things I have noticed is my teeth are whiter and my gums look healthier. So I think its time I introduced my homemade toothpaste to my children and then try the subject with hubby again.
Homemade Toothpaste

 

Mouthwash

What is your favorite toothpaste and mouthwash recipe? 

10 responses to “Homemade Toothpaste and Mouthwash

  1. Emma,
    This is something I’ve been thinking about for a while now. I recently purchased bamboo toothbrushes, but thought I’d try it out myself before making my family use them. I quite like them, so now it’s time to try some toothpaste too….one thing at a time!
    Thanks for posting!
    Nic

  2. I’m not pressing the homemade toothpaste one either – on the basis of “pick your battles” – but I don’t use shop bought paste either. I just scrub my teeth with a little paste made of bicarbonate of soda and water. No pre-mixing or multiple ingredients for me… simple and effective. 95% of the benefit is in the act of brushing anyway!

Leave a Reply

