Homemade Plastic Free Pasta

Homemade Plastic Free Pasta

At the beginning of Zero Waste week I completed an audit of the plastic waste we throw away in our rubbish bin / recycling box at home on a regularly basis and I found one of the most regular things is the our pasta plastic bags.  After completing a long search yesterday and finding there is no where local to me that sells pasta in loose form, I started to think this was one thing I was going to fail on stopping. But then I came across the Plastic Free Tuesday blog who have a fantastic pasta recipe that took away all the myths I had that pasta was hard to make from scratch and they suggest a way of being able to make the pasta well in advance so you can dry store your homemade pasta until you need it. Well la no more plastic pasta bags and no more preservatives in our pasta.

 

Ingredients 

(flour and water ratio of 2 :1)

  •  200 g flour
  • 100 ml water
  • Extra flour for rolling
  • optional dried herbs ( basil, chives, parsley)

Method 

  1. Add your dried herbs to the flour then mix the flour and water together.  ( add the water little by little until you get a solid dough, note sometimes you don’t need all the water)
  2. Put some flour your kitchen unit  and roll out the dough until it’s very thin. (If you are lucky enough to have a pasta machine to do this is a bonus but you but works fine with out and just a rolling pin)
  3. Take a sharp knife and cut your dough into long, thin strips and flour them again so they won’t stick together.
  4. Now you can cook your pasta right away within a few  minutes.
  5. Or to stock them (which I did) by either hang them over a chair back or create  little nests from your pasta strips and let them dry on a kitchen towel over night. (Make sure they are really dry until you stock your pasta nests in a glass airtight container)

my pasta

My First attempt at making my own dried pasta (just waiting for it to dry now) but I think I might try and borrow a pasta machine to help me get the dough thinner.

Do you make your own pasta and have a fab recipe to share with us?

 

11 responses to “Homemade Plastic Free Pasta

    • I always thought making pasta was hard work so never really looked into it until now and this way is really easy. I am going to see if I can pick up a pasta machine secondhand any where.

  1. Emma,
    You have been an inspiration to me this week! This is another of the things that I feel I would quite easily be able to do, but have just never gotten around to researching and finding out if it would be something I’d do long term. You make it sound very easy and I am going to definitely try it soon. My kids will love it too!
    Cheers,
    N x

  2. Pingback: Zero Waste Week-Day 4 | My Make Do and Mend Year·

  3. Pingback: “One More Thing” Was I Plastic Free For A Week? | Mommy Emu·

Leave a Reply

