Homemade Lemonade

Homemade Lemonade

 

The other day I confessed to you all that I have a diet coke addiction, I was really nervous about tell you about my addiction and how I plan to wean myself off diet coke. The support I received from all of you has been overwhelming and I would like to say a massive THANKYOU to all of you for your support.

One of my lovely readers Nicbilby left me a comment suggesting that I made some homemade lemonade to keep in the fridge to help me to stop grabbing a bottle of diet coke when I wanted a cold drink.  Nicbilby was then kind enough to share her family lemonade recipe with me.  So this morning I was up bright and early and  thought I would give making my own lemonade a try. I was a little bit worried I would not like the taste due to my taste buds being a bit off with all diet coke they had endured over the last few years.

Ingredients 

  • 3 Lemons
  • Sugar (Granulated or Caster sugar is fine)
  • Hot Water
  • Cold Water

Method 

  • Add 3/4 cups of sugar depending on how sweet you would like it and 1 cup of boiling water to a saucepan.
  • Gentle simmer your mixture until all the sugar has melted and take of the heat.
  • Add 1 cup of fresh lemon juice (I found this was round 3 lemons depending on the size) and stir into the syrup.
  • Add 3 cups of cold water and stir,  then taste your lemonade. If its not to your taste keep adding a cup of cold water at a time until your lemonade is to your taste.
  • Take a reusable glass bottle and pour your homemade lemonade into your bottle. (I used a funnel to help me not make a mess at this point and I placed into my funnel some muslin to take out the lemon bits as although I don’t mind the bits I know my children wood.
  • Place your bottles (In one batch I made 2 bottles and 1 glass worth of lemonade)  into the fridge ready for when you would like a refreshing drink.

My Homemade Lemonade

My Homemade Lemonade 

Thank you Nicbilby for sharing this recipe with us and I absolutely love this lemonade and I really do feel this is the perfect replacement for my diet coke.

Have you got any homemade drinks that your family enjoys and would like to share with us?

If you do either leave the recipe below in the comments section or email me at mommyemu@gmail.com

So looking forward to trying out all your homemade drinks

xxxx 

9 responses to “Homemade Lemonade

  1. Emma,
    I’m so glad you loved it! Well done, it looks divine and makes me want to go whip up a bit myself right now, but we’re still getting through the gorgeous passionfruit cordial, so when that’s done, I’ll get some more lemons.
    I look forward to reading many more homemade recipes for drinks!
    Cheers,
    N x

  2. I tried homemade lemonade for the first time this year too. My daughter wanted to make some to sell when we had a garage sale. It was super tasty – and sold really well to our customers along with my daughter’s homemade chocolate chip cookies! That’s definitely a better drink to have in the fridge than diet coke!

  3. I used to love Diet Coke. I found though that what I really loved were the bubbles. I purchased a SodaStream 8 years ago and never looked back. I was able to get rid of the cans/bottles, save money, and was healthier – just water no sugar!

    • I am not sure, the first batch I made yesterday did not last thr whole day and the batch I made today only has about 2 glasses left due to the fact all 5 of us in my family really love this lemonade.

      • Yeah we find the same! I think the longest it has ever lasted in our house is about 3 days and it was still lovely! You just need to give it a good shake first!

  4. Pingback: “One More Thing” Was I Plastic Free For A Week? | Mommy Emu·

  5. Pingback: 12 Foods You Should Stop Buying And Make Instead | Mommy Emu·

Leave a Reply

