Cranberry Energy Bar

 

Cranberry Energy Bar

Some days my diary is full that I either don’t have time to stop and have breakfast or lunch but get so hungry that I start to feel sick so end up pulling into a petrol station and buying a packet of crisps or a chocolate bar to keep me going. But this is not good for my self health or weight wise, so I thought there must be a easy way I can make some sort of  healthy energy bar which I can just grab on my way out the door and eat on the run. After searching the internet for a nice recipe I finally came across this recipe in the  Real Food and Health online magazine.

Makes approx 24 bars

Ingredients

 

  • 5 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups honey
  • 2 cups peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup vanilla
  • 3 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup flax seed
  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 sunflower seeds

Method

  1. preheat oven to 180 and grease a backing tray with half inch sides (ideally)
  2. in a large bowl (or mixer if you have one) combine all your ingredients and stir until all your ingredients are well mixed and covered in honey. (as I don’t have a mixer this gave my arms a fantastic workout)
  3.  pour the mixture out evenly on too your baking tray, press the mixture firmly down with the back of a fork.
  4. place in the oven and bake for 12 – 18 minutes until golden brown. Once golden brown  remove from the oven and place your baking tray on a cooling rack. (do not try to remove the cranberry energy bars from the baking tray because they will crumble at this stage.)
  5. let the bars cool completely (I make mine in the evening so I leave them cool overnight) before cutting into individual bars.
  6.  store in an airtight container and enjoy.

What’s your favorite snack to grab if you have missed breakfast or lunch?

 

 

 

6 responses to “Cranberry Energy Bar

  1. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. That is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more
    of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

