Homemade Rice Milk

Homemade Rice Milk

Nearly 2 years ago I was told by the doctors that my body was unable to digest lactose, which meant all dairy products had to be removed from my diet. I replaced cheddar cheese with goat cheese and tried to replace milk with soya but I did not like the taste of it in my cup of tea or on in my breakfast porridge.  But I managed to find a cows milk  that has had the lactose removed. This milk tastes the same as ordinary cows milk but you can only buy it in 2 pint bottles and it costs £1.35 a bottle which is really expensive compared to regular skimmed milk.

I was really happy with this milk, although I was unhappy about the cost until I came across Zero Waste Cheif Blog post on rice milk.  I had seen rice milk on the shelves in supermarkets and health food shops but never wanted to risk buying a bottle just incase I dont like the taste and rice milk is so expensive as well. But what I never realised was, you can make rice milk really easily in your kitchen and it does not take a huge amount of time to make.

So I thought I  can’t lose anything by trying to make my own rice milk and then I will be able to find out if I do like the taste in my cuppa and in my morning porridge. Also making my own would be cheaper than buying bottles of rice milk from the supermarket or health food shop.

My Homemade Rice Milk 

Recipe By Zero Waste Chief 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup brown or white rice, long or short grain (The more rice you use the thicker the milk)
  • 4 cups water (plus more for soaking)
  • 1 teaspoon honey or sugar (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

Directions

1. Rinse rice thoroughly and place in a bowl. Cover with water by about half an inch. Let soak overnight.

2. After the rice has soaked, drain but do not rinse it. Place rice in a blender along with the 4 cups of water. Add sweetener and vanilla, if desired.

3. Whirl the rice and water around in the blender on high for about 3 minutes.

4. Place a sieve lined with a very thin towel over a bowl. Pour the rice milk into it. Allow the liquid to strain and drip into the bowl below.

5. Gather the corners of the towel up and squeeze out the remaining liquid.

6. Pour rice milk into jars, replace lids and chill. Drink your rice milk within a week.

The first batch of rice milk I made did not  taste  that nice and was too watery for me, I guess this is  because I have been so use to the thickness of cows milk all my life. But I was determined not to give up so after searching through several different recipes on how to make rice milk I found out the more rice you use the thicker your milk. So I gave that ago and instead of using 1 cup of rice I used 3 cups of rice too 4 cups of water and I also added an extra teaspoon of honey for taste. The result was fantastic, no more buying lactose free milk, from now on I make my own rice milk.

Have you ever tasted rice milk? Do you make your own rice milk and if so whats your favourite recipe? 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Homemade Rice Milk

  1. Sounds really good! I am dairy free on and off and had a stint of keeping my kids off dairy recently.and was looking for recipes like this for them at the time. I usually just use water though instead of milk subsitutes for me. I did try making my own vegan yoghurt once, but it was a bit of a disaster…

  2. Pingback: I Have A Confession To Make | Mommy Emu·

  3. Pingback: Lets Talk About All Things Almonds | Mommy Emu·

Leave a Reply

