Homemade Dry Shampoo

homemade dry shampoo

Every morning in our house it’s a mad rush to get everyone ready to leave the house on time.  I am sure this happens in most houses especially during the school week. I usually get up before my children each morning to shower and wash my hair (I have mentioned before how vain I am about my hair), then I get dressed and run around after 3 children organising their breakfast, getting them dressed, packing pack lunches etc.. all the time with wet hair usually leaving whatever I have to do to get ready needing to be done in the last 2 minutes before I have to leave the house. There have been so many times when I have walked out the door with no shoes on and having to turn around and quickly trying to slip on some sort of footwear. I am tired just thinking about it !

Do I really need to wash my hair every day or could I get away with washing my hair every other day?

Yes I can, after being introduced to dry shampoo by a friend of mine. I was catching up with my friend the other day and they told me about dry shampoo. For those of you like me who have no clue what dry shampoo is, basically it’s a powder product that you spray on the roots of your hair. The powder soaks up your hairs excess oil that makes your hair look and feel greasy therefore preventing you from having to wash your hair every day.

So I hit the shops to get to know this new alien product. I found reading the ingredients of the products in the shops that they are full of  butane, isobutane and propane and synthetic fragrances just to mention a few. I really don’t want to save a few minutes to my morning by adding chemicals to my hair that resemble the makings of lighter fuel, after I have made massive changes to cut out all chemicals in my shampoo and hair spray. So shop bought is out of the question, how am I now going to regain these precious minutes without this magical dry shampoo?

After hitting the internet to try and find an alternative, I discovered there was a mind full of information and recipes on how to make your own dry shampoo. I decided I would make a collection of different dry shampoo recipes and see which one worked best for me. Some of them left my hair looking a right mess and I am sure people looked at me wondering what the hell had happened to my hair, but politely no one said anything. After trying out five different recipes I found one of the recipes worked the best on my hair to the point I could not even notice that I had not washed my hair that day and my hair felt and smelled lovely.

Ingredients

  • Small Glass Jar
  • Cornflour
  • Cocoa powder (for dark hair)
  • Cinnamon (for red hair)
  • 3-5 drops essential oils (optional)

Method

  1. Depending on your hair colour mix corn flour and either cocoa powder or cinnamon together in a ratio of 1:1 into your glass jar. If you have blond hair only use  corn flour on its own.
  2. At this stage you can add a few drops of essential oil if you would like (I don’t add any to mine as I have red hair and like the smell of the cinnamon). You could add either Lavender or Sandalwood as they are both great for your scalp.
  3. Separate your hair and either sprinkle your mixture sparingly onto your roots or you can use a clean makeup brush and apply to your roots using the brush.
  4. Once all your roots have been covered in dry shampoo, massage your roots so the dry shampoo can soak up all the excess hair oil your hair has. Then style your hair as you normally would. No one will know you have not washed your hair that day.

It’s amazing how by cutting two tasks out of my morning routine has reduced the stress of getting out of the door first thing in the morning, to the point that we have not been late to school once since changing my routine.  I must also add that I made another small change. Every other day I shower in the evening and then dry my hair (I cannot sleep with wet hair) then in the morning I spend the 2 minutes it takes to straighten my hair, while on the other days i use dry shampoo and straighten it.

What’s your shortcut to lovely hair first thing in the morning?

 

Leave a Reply

