My 6 Best Tips On Using White Vinegar Around Your Home

My 6 Best Tips Useing White Vinegar around your home

It’s a running joke in our house how much I like to use vinegar for everyday household jobs but do not like vinegar on my chips.  I must go through a good 2 litres of white vinegar a week cleaning our house and never really thought about how I use it.  That was until the other day when a friend came round and asked me about what we use to clean our house, what recipes we use to make cleaning products and tips I could give her from our experiences.

This got me thinking, what do I  actually use white vinegar for around my home?

 

  1. Cleaning Kitchen Worktops Vinegar has antimicrobial and antibacterial properties which makes it a good choice for cleaning the kitchen. Mix equal parts white vinegar and water and then then pour it into a spray bottle ( I use a recycled glass vinegar bottle and a recycled spray top from an old bottle of cleaning solution I use to buy). I just  spray my worktops and wipe off with a clean cloth.  You can also use vinegar to clean saucepans, cooking utensils cutting boards and stainless-steel sinks.
  2. Plumbing Fixtures  Vinegar is a natural cleaner that kills mould, mildew, and bacteria. Resulting in an effective alternative to pricey toxic bathroom cleaners. Because of this I use vinegar to clean my bathroom sink, bathtub, tiles, the shower door, and even the toilet. (I also sprinkle a handful of bicarbonate soda down the toilet before I spray vinegar around the toilet bowl).
  3. Water Rings On wood One thing I hate in our house is finding water marks on our wooden living room table, where people have popped a cup down without a mat. But I manage to get rid of them by mixing equal parts of white vinegar and vegetable cooking oil together. Then I take a clean cloth dipped in the mixture and rub the stain once the stain has gone (rubbing in the direction of the grain), I then buff our table with clean dry cloth. Our table is back to new and you would never know the stain had ever been there.
  4. Price Tag Sticky Glue  Does this ever happen to you?  You try to remove the price tag from a new item, but the paper surface peels and leaves sticky residue behind. It’s nothing but annoying, especially if what you have just bought is a gift for someone. An easy way to remove this sticky residue is to wipe or spray with vinegar over the residue and leave it to soak in for a couple minutes. Then wipe away the sticky residue with a clean cloth and it will come right off.
  5. Windows For streak clean windows mix one part vinegar with five parts warm water. Spray the mixture on the window or mirror, and then wipe it off with a squeegee.
  6. Mystery Smells in the Car It’s hard not to fill a car with strange smells when you are traveling children around all the time. A quick easy way to get rid of these smells is by filling a bowl with vinegar and leaving the bowl in your car overnight (The vinegar will deodorize your car). In the morning remove the bowl of vinegar and enjoy a clean smelling car (The smell of vinegar goes really quickly from your car once your bowl has been removed).

Do you use white vinegar as part of your cleaning routine in your home? 

2 responses to “My 6 Best Tips On Using White Vinegar Around Your Home

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Tips On Simple Living Housework | Mommy Emu·

  2. Pingback: My 6 Best Tips On Using White Vinegar Around Your Home | is-was cottage·

Leave a Reply

