Thrifty Hairspray

Thrifty hairsprayI use to spend  a lot of money on hair products to keep my hair in the style I like, so each strand of hair on my head is facing and laying in the right direction. (I know I can be a bit vain when it comes to my hair) But when I say a lot I could spend anywhere from £30 to £40 a month. But when my husband took a job change, our income reduced dramatically and I started looking at our way of life and making changes to the way we live to help reduce our impact on the environment and save money. I had known for sometime I had to change the amount I was spending on hair products but this gave me the kick up the bum I needed. Also do I really need so many different hair products surely there is just one hair product that can do the job of 10?

After searching the high street, local health food shops high and low I just could not find what I was looking for and was running out of the products that I had previously bought.  I searched the internet for different ways to make hairspray and they all seemed really complicated or used ingredients that I don’t naturally buy like vodka.

I knew lemons contained cellulose which is a long chain of linked sugar molecules which create strength.  After lots of experimenting with lemons over the kitchen hob I finally came up with a mixture that would hold my hair in place and left no sticky residue. After testing my new hairspray out for a month I asked my husband and friends if they had noticed anything different about my hair. Yes they said (I thought oh no I stink of lemons really bad) you hair has been looking really healthy and shinny recently.  Fantastic my new toxic free and only costs me a bag of organic lemons (£1.77 which I buy each week anyway for other things in our home) hairspray is staying as part of my morning hair styling routine.

Lemon Hairspray Recipe

  • Cut 1 Organic Lemon (only use organic lemons because they have not been sprayed with wax) in half.
  • Place the 2 pieces of lemon in a saucepan with 2 cups of water.
  • Bring to the boil and let it simmer away until the water has reduced by half.
  • Once the water has reduced take off the heat and let it cool to room temperature.
  • Using a slotted spoon remove the 2 lemon halves and compost them.
  • Take a funnel and pop it into a spray bottle. (I use recycled vinegar bottles and add a spray top) and pour in the lemon liquid.
  • Label your bottle hairspray.
  • Style your hair like you would normally using hairspray, wax putty etc..
  • Strore in the fridge to keep your hairspray fresh.
  • This hairspray will last for up to 2 weeks before going off.

I would love to hear any of your wonderful recipes for hair products you use.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Thrifty Hairspray

  1. What a fantastic way to use lemons and create an eco friendly hairspray! I went no poo and was using lemons to wash my hair 🙂

Leave a Reply

