Eco-Friendly Hair Removal

Eco-Freindly Hair Removal

Us women put our bodies through all sorts of or weird and wonderful potions and lotions to look good before we walk out the front the door to take our children to school or go to work. Even coming down to removing the hair from our bodies. So the thought has been crossing my mind is there not a more eco-friendly way than waxing, throw away razors etc.. to remove the hair that covers our bodies that we don’t really want to have?

Of course the most environmentally friendly way is to not remove the hair from our bodies at all and walk around completely natural. During the winter months I do tend to miss a few weeks of my hair removal ritual and admittedly let my body hair grow slightly longer than my husband would agree was ok but in the summer I like my body hair to be completely gone, with lovely smooth legs and armpits. (I am not sure why I am a bit of a seasonal girl but that’s just the way I tick)

So I started to research into whether there is a more environmentally friendly way to remove my unwanted hair and oooh boy there is a lot of different contrasting information out there! But what did amaze me was we spend on average in the UK £265m a year on wet shave razors and £104m on electric or dry shavers. But not only are we spending vast amounts of money on these wet shavers much of our expenditure ends up in landfill due to the nature of the material to make this product not being recyclable. That is a lot of money to be throwing in the bin for just a couple of uses to make myself feel good with having smooth legs.

What environmentally friendly options are there?

Re-Sharpening Disposable Razor Blade Heads

According to the wet shavers manufactures a disposable razor head should last up 130 shaves instead of the usual 5 to 6 uses. The re-sharpening razor blade sharpeners work by rubbing a dull silicon strip down the length of the blade a few times. As the metal of the razor blade is extremely malleable at the edge and is also so thin that you don’t need a hard material to sharpen them. These sharpeners are available for as little as £14.99 from clifford-james.

Hand Crank Or Wind – Up Shavers

These are traditionally designed for taking with you while you travel or are camping where there is no electric. These shavers power up when you wind them up and longer you wind them up the longer the shaver lasts. Although these are not like the conventional electric razors we can all use these and completely create no waste as they don’t use electric energy which is not good to the environment. There are many of these on the market today such as the Power Plus Piranha Wind-Up Shaver.

DIY Homemade Sugar Wax

Nearly all shop bought waxing kits contain paraffin wax which can cause thermal burns to your skin and when heated can gives off fumes which can cause irritation of the eyes and the respiratory tract. Another route to wax off your unwanted hair is to make your own with a few ingredients you already have in your kitchen. Beth Terry has a great recipe on her blog on how to make your own Honey & Sugar Wax.

Here is a quick overview of Beth Terry’s recipe

  • 2 tsp brown sugar

  • 1tsp honey

  • 1tsp water

  • Cloth Strips (Any 100% recycled clean fabric)

  1. Combine ingredients into a microwave container

  2. Cook mixture in a microwave for 30 -35 seconds (until it bubbles and turns brown) You need it sticky to work not soft.

  3. Leave to cool

  4. Apply to area you wish to wax

  5. Place the cotton strips over the wax, then press and smooth in the direction of the hair growth.

  6. Breath in and rip off

Laser Hair Removal

This technique creates no waste but can be an expensive route to go down. Gel is placed over the area that you would like hair removed from, the beauty therapist goes over the area with a laser while you were a pair of goggles to protect your eyes. The gel is then wiped away using a cloth towel and aloe vera is smoothed into the area that has been lasered. In most beauty salons the goggles are reused by every patient and the cloth towel is then washed ready for the next patient, creating no waste for the landfill.

Now the question is, which one am I going to choose to try out first?

What is your favorite eco-friendly hair removal method?

46 responses to “Eco-Friendly Hair Removal

  1. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!

    I truly enjoyed reading it, you can be a
    great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog
    and will eventually come back at some point. I want to encourage you to
    ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for
    me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  3. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the
    screen in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to
    do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon.
    Thanks

  4. A person essentially lend a hand to make critically articles I’d state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and so far?
    I surprised with the research you made to make this
    actual submit extraordinary. Excellent process!

    • Thank you very much. In order for my family to make changes on the way we want to live our life more I feel it is important to do as much research as possible. I then enjoy passing the information I have found onto other people so they can make an informative decision on the given subject.

  5. Hey there! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog like yours take
    a lot of work? I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share
    my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know
    if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

    • To set up the blog the way I wanted it to look and feel did take me some time to get it right and play around. But once you have your blog looking the way you want it too it does not really take up too much time. The main bit of advice I can give you is write about about what you be leave in and are passionate about. If you do this you will find it really easy and enjoyable to write your blog posts. Good luck on your blog and please share with me know the link to your blog because I would love to read the interesting things you have to say.

  6. Whats up very cool site!! Man .. Excellent ..
    Superb .. I will bookmark your website and
    take the feeds also? I am satisfied to seek out numerous useful info right here in the publish,
    we’d like develop extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . .

  7. Thank you for another informative web site. Where else could I am getting that kind
    of information written in such an ideal way? I have a project that
    I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

  8. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow,
    just wanted to say excellent blog!

  9. Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you provide.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Excellent read!

    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

  10. Usually I do not read article on blogs, however I would like
    to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so!

    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite nice post.

  11. Pingback: me hair remover·

  12. Pingback: group health insurance·

  13. I’m French, I have to shave my legs 😉 I bought a safety razor during Plastic-Free July and I love it. The razor itself was a little bit expensive but the replacement blades cost very little and they last. So in the long run, it will be more economical.

  14. Great idea, I’m a home waxed. Most of your replies were from advertisers spamming you. Can you moderate Emma? All their links are selling something from heart rate monitors to weight loss pills.

      • I was about to say the same thing as Frugal Queen! I use a wordpress plugin called anti-spam bee – it’s quite good at filtering out the spam although you do have to check it occasionally as some real comments do slip through. And interesting article! I use an epilator I’ve had for about 8 years but nice to consider some more eco alternatives!

Leave a Reply

