Zero Magazine And Newspaper Waste

Zero Magazine And Newspaper Waste

The big question I have been asking myself recently is do we really need to buy magazines and newspapers when we can so easily read them online? I know this goes against everything I have said before about my love of paper. But I just cannot get this question out of my head.

Having been only able to either spend my day sat in bed or on  the sofa for the last few months not being able to go out and buy a newspaper or magazine I have found that a huge percentage of magazines and newspapers also publish online and are very easy to read either on your laptop, tablet or mobile phone.

I have loads of magazines I have saved over the years with interesting articles in them which I really don’t want to loose.  But in this day and age with Pinterest is there really any need to store up thousands of magazines for may be one article in each that I can easily be store online after reading them online, reducing  the waste in our home, not to mention the storage? I ask myself.

The cost of this paper waste does not only hit my pocket hard but also has a huge environmental cost too.  With the loss of trees, energy used to make this paper, printing, delivery and my petrol to boot.

I guess at the end of the day it comes down to personal choice as to whether you should buy the paper format of your favorite magazine and newspaper or read a downloaded electronic copy.

So to my original question, do we really need to buy magazines and newspapers when we can so easily read them online? I really don’t know.

How do you prefer to read your favorite magazine and newspaper, in paper form or electronic?

Leave a Reply

