Playing With Mix Media

I have been playing with my new love of printing fabric and my old love of free hand embroidery this week and mixing the two together. After playing around with lots of designs and my obsession with seagulls I came up with a new journal design called Sandy Toes.

I decided to cut up a old pair of denim jeans and use as my main piece of fabric in this piece not only cos it’s hard wearing but because I loved the different shades of washed out blue through out the leg of these old jeans which kind of resembled the colours of the sea.

Even as I started to print onto the denim I was unsure of how the whole design was going to come together and if it was even going to work. But I am really pleased with the result and here it is.

20130207-225244.jpg

My brain is now going into over drive about how I can mix these too medias together and create another one off design with the other leg of my recycled jeans.

2 responses to “Playing With Mix Media

Leave a Reply

