Winter Warmer Pudding

Last night my husband and I fancied something sweet but neither of us wanted to go out into the cold and visit our corner shop. I had bought a pineapple over the weekend so decided to attempt to make a pineapple upside down cake.

20121022-091503.jpg

I used a Nigella recipe although I adapted it slightly so that is was gluten free and I could enjoy it.

Ingredients

1 pinch of butter (for greasing)
2 tablespoon(s) caster sugar
6 slice(s) pineapple (from a can plus 3 tablespoons of the juice)
11 glace cherries (approx. 75g total weight)
100 gram(s) plain flour
1 teaspoon(s) baking powder
¼ teaspoon(s) bicarbonate of soda
100 gram(s) butter (soft)
100 gram(s) caster sugar
2 medium eggs

Method

Method

Preheat the oven to 200°C/gas mark 6. Butter a tarte Tatin tin (24cm wide at the top and 20cm diameter at the bottom) or use a 23cm cake tin (neither loose-bottomed nor springform).
Sprinkle the 2 tablespoons of sugar on top of the buttered base, and then arrange the pineapple slices to make a circular pattern as in the picture.
Fill each pineapple ring with a glace cherry, and then dot one in each of the spaces in between.
Put the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, butter, caster sugar and eggs into a food processor and run the motor until the batter is smooth. Then pour in the 3 tablespoons of pineapple juice to thin it a little.
Pour this mixture carefully over the cherry-studded pineapple rings; it will only just cover it, so spread it out gently.
Bake for 30 minutes, then ease a spatula around the edge of the tin, place a plate on top and, with one deft – ha! – move, turn it upside-down.

Please note this is the exact copy of Nigella’s recipe not my adapted one for gluten free.

The pineapple upside down cake was received well by my biggest critics when it comes to cooking my family. I must admit mine did not come out as pretty as Nigella’s one I had no cherries and two I used fresh pineapple but I am most defiantly going to try it again very soon.

Leave a Reply

