The Repurposed Library

I came across this delightful book a few weeks ago. The repurposed library is written by Lisa Occhipint, who has had a passion for books since childhood after realizing at the age of 10 years onwards that she enjoyed reading books, writing thoughts/poetry and filling journals full of sketches. Lisa went on to college to study how to create books using different techniques, which increased her passion for books and how books are not just for reading but can also be altered into a piece of art work. Over the last 20 years Lisa has been collecting books and changing there form into arts of work, sculptures and everyday objects such as shelves, frames and lampshades.

20121019-182908.jpg

At the begging of this book there is a great section with clear pictorial instructions on all the tools that are needed and the basics to destructing a repurposed book so that you can use every element of your book for different projects.

This book is also jam packet with 26 different projects you can try out from bookmobile, sewing box, journal, hanging mirror, clock, bird house, kindle keeper to name only a few. But my favorite is the tool bin.

20121019-184041.jpg

Each project has detailed step by step instructions with clear diagrams to help you complete your project easily. I love the way the diagrams in this book are all hand drawings with so much detail in them that you just can’t make a mistake.

20121019-183507.jpg

I am loving this book to bits and I am off to hunt down a old cooking book to turn into a tool bin for our kitchen.

30 responses to “The Repurposed Library

  1. The very first thing that I never really seem to comprehend is why some discussions are very awful – and yours is undoubtedly not!

    Many thanks for sharing a terrific post with me!

  2. I believe what you said made a bunch of sense. But, consider
    this, suppose you were to create a awesome title? I am not suggesting your content
    isn’t solid., however suppose you added something that makes people want more? I mean The Repurposed Library | Emu’s Upcycled Gifts is
    kinda vanilla. You could look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they write article headlines to grab people to open the links. You might add a video or a picture or two to grab people interested about everything’ve written.

    Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

    • everlast boxing sleeveless hoodie mens Thank you for your comment I really appreciate you took the time out to comment on my post and I agree with you one of the things I find hard is creating a great head line. As for the name Emu’s Upcycled Gifts, this is our business name and I have thought about changing it but have had difficulty coming up with a name I like that includes Emu as that’s my childhood nic name. But I am open for any suggestions if you can think of any great names.

  3. Excellent website. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some friends and also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your effort!

  4. Useful info. Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally, and I am stunned why this coincidence did
    not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  5. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  6. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble
    locating itt but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Leave a Reply

