Home Made Jam

At Christmas I gave our friends and family some of my homemade jam and not only did every body enjoy it they all asked me for the recipe. So here it is:-




I found this great recipe in one on of my cook books bake with Rachel Allen (you can pick this book up from any great book shop) her recipe is easy to follow and has very little ingredients and your jam can be made within a hour just using your normal  kitchen utensils.

You Need
  • 1kg granulated sugar
  • 1kg fresh or frozen fruit berry’s
  • Juice of 2 lemons 

Method
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees (350 Fahrenheit) or Gas mark 4. Place the sugar into a bowl in a ovenproof dish and place in the oven for 15 min to warm through.
  2. Meanwhile, place the berry’s with the lemon juice in a large saucepan set over a medium heat. Using a potato masher or hand blender, mash the fruit to the desired consistency of your choice. Turn up the heat, bring to the boil and cook for 2 min until juicy.
  3.  Add the warm sugar to the berry’s and stir until dissolved, then boil for another 6 min, stirring frequently. (If there is any scum on the top, (pink froth) skim it off with a slotted spoon and discard.) Remove the pan from the heat while you test the jam to see if its set. (see bellow on how to test the jam) If the jam hasn’t set, boil for a min or so longer and test again.
  4. Remove the pan from the heat, pot into sterilized jars and cover with lids or jam covers while still hot.


 Testing the Jam Has Set

To test whether your jam has set, put a teaspoonful on a chilled plate and place in the fridge. When the jam is cold, run your finger through the ‘blob’. If a wrinkle forms in the skin on top then it is set.


This is jam is a great last minute gift or to make the day before your cream tea family/friends get together. 

I hope you have as much fun making your jam as I do. I look forward to hearing about how your jam making went.
10 responses to “Home Made Jam

  1. Excellent blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out
    there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Appreciate it!

    • Thank you every so much. The biggest bit of advice I can give you is just be your self, write about what you are interested in and be true to your self. I have blogged on blogger before moving to WordPress and I found that WordPress enabled me to create a blog the way I wanted it to look but they are both very good free blogging hosts. Recently I took part in a blogging course run by Dexterous Diva which is a online course you work your way through in your own time. I found the course had loads of great tips with keeping the creativity flowing and how to keep all your ideas flowing too. Oh and the course only cost me £10.00 to take part. You can find out more details here http://dexterousdiva.co.uk/e-courses.

      The other thing is don’t get stressed out by your blog as this results in you giving up and there are lots of people out here who really want to hear what you have to say and learn from you. It would be a shame we all missed out because you gave up due to the pressure you pilled on your self. Oh and read lots and lots of different types of blogs and learn from the way they do things but still staying true to your self.

      I hope this helps, please feel free to ask me any other questions that you may have. You can also find me on FaceBook at http://www.facebook.com/MommyEmu or Twitter @MommyEmu were you can also ask me anything as well.

  2. Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this web site; this blog carries awesome and truly fine information in support of visitors.

  3. Nice blog over here! I’ll just wanna say thnx for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

  4. Hi there, I found your web site by the use of Google whilst
    looking for a related subject, your website came up, it appears great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply become aware of your blog through Google, and located
    that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful for those who continue this in future. Many other folks might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  5. Pingback: Preserving Fruit | Mommy Emu·

  6. Pingback: “One More Thing” Reducing Plastic | Mommy Emu·

Leave a Reply

