Small Container Garden

Small Container Garden

I posted a some photos on my Facebook and Twitter page yesterday of our second stage vegetable planting we had been doing during the day. I was then asked by several people how they could grow their own vegetables in a very small garden, patio or balcony.

garden 3

Phase 2 of our vegetable garden this year 

 

So I thought I would right this post with all my favourite ways to grow vegetables in containers suitable for the smallest places.

soda-bottle-wall-garden-1

Wall Garden Created By Plastic Drink Bottles Photo By Rosenbaum 

This wall garden made from plastic drink bottles is my favourite out of everything, who would of known drink bottles would look so arty? You can find full instructions on how to create your own drink bottle wall on Rosenbaum’s blog.

66b5e7de83f79cf0fc5d37f1dcb58063

Image Taken From Green Graffiti Waslijn

I think this would be a fun project to do with the children during the holidays and they could choose what ever vegetables they would like to plant.

cans

Image Taken From Pinterest With No Name Of Who Took The Picture

I did this last year with our recycled baked bean cans to grow our lettuce and tomatoes. Although we never painted the tins we just left them silver. But all the same the tin cans worked really well growing our salad mix.

Draws

Image Taken From Pinterest With No Name Of Who Took The Picture

I think this idea of using some old draws you don’t need any more but are not in a good enough state to give to someone else, is a fab idea. There are all sorts of vegetables you could grow in these from butternut squash to cabbages and spinach. Or you could create a fantastic herb garden, which would not only make your garden smell nice but save you some money at the same time.

coffee-cup-planter-tires

Image Taken From Good Homes Design 

Tires are great to use as planters we are currently using them in our garden at the moment to grow our potatoes, carrots, spinach, beetroot and butternut squash. I love the way these tires have been made into tea cups, an idea I might use next year.

How do you grow your vegetables in a small place?

We would love to hear your tips on small garden growing.

4 responses to “Small Container Garden

  1. I love these ideas! We have hardly any space outside to grow, but are lucky enough to have a really sunny conservatory. A colleague of mine who is a horticulturist at Eden project said you can literally grow things anyway, as long as they have sun, water, soil and some kind of drainage. A pair of holey boots work really well!

  2. I like the valuable information you supply to your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here
    regularly. I am rather sure I will be informed many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

