Simple Living- Clutter Free Wardrobe

Simple Living- Clutter Free Wardrobe

 

My wardrobe is overflowing with clothes of all shape and sizes and I still say to my husband “I can’t find anything to wear” or I will spend ages trying to put an outfit together when we are going out on one of our date nights or to a party. In order to live a simple life I need to tackle my wardrobe and de-clutter what I don’t wear and/or don’t need any more. The only way this can happen successfully is if I follow 2 simple tips.

Wardrobe experiment

I love this concept that Oprah Winfrey talks about on her website. Basically you take everything out of your wardrobe and lay everything on the bed. If there is anything you instantly see that you no longer want any more put that to one side, to either sell on Ebay or donate to charity. With the remaining clothes, hang them all back up in the wardrobe with the hangers facing the wrong way, so all the ends of the coat hangers are facing you. After you have worn each item place them back in the wardrobe with the hangers facing the right way. Oprah says to do this for 6 months, although I think that’s too long. I am going to be doing this for 3 months. After 6 / 3 months all the clothes hanging on hangers facing the wrong way are clothes you don’t need any more and can leave your life either via Ebay or a charity shop.

Upcycling Can Double Your Wardrobe Space

No matter how many items of clothing we decide we no longer need there is always a want to have more room in our wardrobe to make it easier to see each item of clothing or make collections out of different outfits for different events such as work, social, parties etc.. This extra space can easily be created by using the ring pull from a drinks can. Pop the ring pull off your can then simply slide the ring pull over the hook of your hanger and slide down to the base. Take another coat hanger and slip the hook through the lower hole of your ring pull. Your wardrobe has not only doubled in size but your clothes are well organised into different outfits and it will take half the time in the morning to work out what you are going to wear and what piece of clothing works with another.

By following these 2 simple tips on decluttering my wardrobe I now no longer need a double wardrobe to cram all my clothes into and have been able to downsize to a single wardrobe adding more space to our room and creating the feeling our bedroom has grown in size.

How many clothes do you have in your wardrobe that you think you wear but you don’t wear that often or don’t wear at all?

5 responses to “Simple Living- Clutter Free Wardrobe

  1. Thanks for the tips! I’ve tried using ring pulls to organises hubby’s shirts but hadn’t thought about using them to match up outfits. There is something quite satisfying about organising your wardrobe :) I try to empty everything out every few months and put anything that I consistently put on and take off before I go out to one side. If I can work out what’s not right about it I’ll alter it, if I can’t I’ll take it to the charity shop before I change my mind! Doing this has freed up a huge amount of space and made me think much more carefully about what I buy.

Leave a Reply

