Homemade Popcorn Breakfast

Homemade popcorn breakfast

I have been looking at my children’s breakfast cereal over the last few days. It full of nothing but  syrup, refined sugar, GMO corn, flavourings, salt, preservatives and coatings with codes that I just can’t get my head around. At the end of the day this is supposed to be the most important meal I give to my children before they start the day. But in fact instead of feeding them a healthy, energy producing meal I am just feeding them a load of crap that does not benefit them in any way.

As I don’t have time in the morning to cook sausage, bacon and eggs for breakfast, I knew there must be another way to feed my children a healthy breakfast cereal that I could make myself and would not be too time consuming. The internet is awash with ideas but none of these ideas I thought my children would sit and eat without any fuss.

While sifting through my kindle I found a book I bought ages ago called, “How To Feed Your Family For A £5 A Day” but I totally forgot I had it. While flipping through this book I came across a recipe “Popcorn for Breakfast”. My kids love popcorn, but only the popcorn I make they don’t like shop bought popcorn. It does not take long to pop the corn in a saucepan so it is not too time consuming. With this recipe I thought let’s give it ago.

The first morning the girls couldn’t quite understand I why I was putting milk on their popcorn and it took a lot of persuading for them to eat it. But I have persisted and now on their third day of eating popcorn for breakfast they are enjoying it, with no complaints.

Popcorn Breakfast recipe

Feeds 4 – 6 people

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 3 tbsp popping corn
  • 570 ml milk
  • 4 tsp soft brown sugar or 1 tbsp honey (the kids prefer the sugar but I prefer the honey)

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large pan over a high heat for 1 – 2 minutes until it starts to spit. Add the popping corn and cover the pan with a tight fitting lid, then reduce the heat. The corn will start to pop as it cooks.
  2. When the popping sound slows down to about 3 – 4 seconds between pops. Gently shake the pan from side to side to make sure any corn that has got stuck to the bottom of the pan comes free and pops. When the popping sound has stopped your popcorn is ready.
  3. Divide into bowls, add milk and sweeten to taste with either sugar or honey.


What alternative breakfast do you give your family instead of the shop bought cereal?

 

2 responses to “Homemade Popcorn Breakfast

  1. My kids have soaked oats (soaked with milk) with chopped up banana every day for breakfast. I often make them popcorn (the salty type – I just add a pinch of salt to the pan before I pop them) for a snack, but never thought of giving it to them for breakfast before!

Leave a Reply

